An Apple a Day! Japanese style

I have super interesting and knowledgable friends who are a couple.  They are so helpful and wise!   I found a small green fruit underneath a tree near the farms where I get my local produce from.  I asked many people what it was but nobody knew, they just said don’t eat it.  I asked this amazing couple and they just told me it’s a young, unripe persimmon. It confused me as it fell off the tree like it was ripe.  Then I blurted out that persimmons ripen in the fall which reminded them of the Japanese expression “when persimmons become red, the doctor becomes blue”… As in eating fall fruit takes a doctors business away.  So I shared our expression “an apple a day keeps the doctor away!”   Gotta love cultural exchange!!!   Love my Takatsuki friends!

  
  

Leave a Reply

